Jime: - 11:00 Am

lege campi

The Department of Political Science Shaheed Captain Vikram Batra Government College Palampur, organised Youth parliament activity on 25th October, 2024 under the guidance of the Head of the Department, Dr. Shailja Vasudeva.

First, we welcomed our chief guest, the honorable officiating principal, Sanjay Gupta Sir, by performing a tilak ceremony. Following this, we presented him with a token of love in the form of a badge, and Shailja Mam gifted him a bouquet.

After this, we invited Sir to the stage to share his thoughts with us. Sir provided us with valuable feedback and guidance. Subsequently, we sought his permission to proceed with the program, which he graciously granted.

Dr. Shailja vasudeva, while welcoming the chief guest and other attendees, clarified the nature and purpose of the event. The main objective of this event is to make the young students aware

about citizenship education, democratic values, political objectives, the latest issues of the society and to introduce them to new technologies and ideas. After this, the youth parliament activity started, the participants confidently answered questions in the Question Hour session on issues like one nation one election, artificial intelligence, corruption, inflation, employment and housing problems, increasing crimes against women, steps taken for health services, digital data privacy, paper leaking problem of competitive examinations, serious problem of climate change, terrorism, security of the country, shortcomings of



the current education system, India and foreign policy, women's safety, India-China border dispute etc. During the Question Hour, there was an atmosphere of complete thoughtfulness, enthusiasm and excitement in the House. Diksha Rana started the session as the speaker. Prashant Kumar

successfully played the role of Prime Minister, Sahil as Home Minister, Shivani as MP from Ministry of Women and Child Development, Anushka as MP from Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Shivam as MP from Tourism Department, Jiya as MP from Ministry of Labor and Employment, Palak as MP from Ministry of Science and Technology. Officiating Principal Dr. Sanjay Gupta praised the excellent performance of the students as MPs and motivated them to play better social and political roles in the future and wished them all the best. He further said that such types of activities should be encouraged the energy and strength of the youth



should continue to be carried out in the college. This gives rise to opportunities for the development of multifaceted talents of the youth. He attributed the success of the event to the unique thinking ability and unlimited power of the Head of the Department Dr. Shailja, who is an incomparable pride of the institute has a catalytic personality who often gives her best in every field and



constantly encourages the students to perform at their best. The stage was hosted by Muskaan Pathania. Prof. Kalpana Rishi, Prof. Sunita, Dr. Meenakshi Thakur, Prof. Manju and Dr. Ashu Phul also shared their views and experiences on this Youth Parliament and congratulated the Department of Politics for successfully organizing it. Vote of thanks was presented by Dr. Shailia Vasudava, About 80 students